The cinema is built on the site of Daly’s Theatre, which was opened on 27 June 1893, and demolished in 1937, having been sold to Warner Brothers who demolished it to build a large theatre and cinema called the “Warner Theatre” in 1938. Most of this was later demolished, although the frontage was retained, and the site redeveloped as the Warner Village cinema complex. It is now operated by Vue Cinemas, a brand which absorbed the Warner Village chain in 2003.
The architects of the 1938 cinema were Thomas Somerford and E. A. Stone. The frontage has a facade of faced reconstructed marble. The sculptor Bainbridge Copnall provided a large relief panel in each corner depicting the spirits of sight and sound. The cinema now has 9 screens with a total of 1388 seats, with 18 wheelchair spaces.
- New 62.7m² digital screen on the exterior of the building
- A venue which boasts 1,388 leather VIP and luxurious leather reclining seats across nine auditoriums with stepped stadium seating.
- Advanced Sony 4K digital projection with FINITY from Sony Digital Cinema 4K for Premium Large Format Screenings, installed by Sound Associates.
- Pin-sharp Dolby Atmos overhead, surround sound filled auditoriums
- The largest screen is 13.1 meters wide by 5.5 meters high